mDNSResponder, crashing XPortPro 16MB

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mDNSResponder, crashing XPortPro 16MB

I was wondering if anybody out there has any experience using mDNSResponder on the XPortPro 16MB device.
    Over the last day or so I've added it to my project and it seems to run fine for about 5 to 10 minutes (I haven't measured exactly) and then the device becomes totally unresponsive (over the network and the serial port) and I have to do a hard reset of the device to get it back.
    I don't see any sort of crash log or stack trace or anything so I really don't know what's going on.
    I'm fairly certain that mDNSResponder is causing the problem as I can kill it just after the device boots up and the device seems stable over the long term.

I'm pretty new to ucLinux and this device so I'd appreciate any tips on using mDNSResponder and or debugging problems like this.

Thanks,
    Matt S.

PS Alternatively I'd like to know if anyone has used Avahi on this device instead of mDNSResponder.

Here is an update.

I still haven't gotten mDNSResponder to work (it still crashes my device after a few minutes) but then I haven't really tried as I've never been all that impressed with this code from Apple anyway.

I have gotten Avahi to work but with some reservations and conniptions.